Cooking – Pork Loin Roast

I made a pork loin roast last night with my new amazing ingredient:

Lava salt with activated charcoal.

It seems to really kick up the flavour of any dish without overpowering it.

For this dish, you’ll need:

pork loin roast

Pinapple spears

Spices: Paprika, Ancho Powder, Lava Salt

Roasted Garlic

Oil.

I started by rubbing the roast with Spanish Paprika, Ancho powder – the Ancho adds a smokey taste, not a spicey one, and roasted garlic. I sprinkled the lava salt over the roast as I turned it. And you don’t need very much, as it melts nicely.

I browned the roast on all sides for searing in the juices.

Then moved the roast to the roasting pan (with a couple tablespoons of oil in the bottom), while I quickly seared the Pinapple spears to give them a smokey tint.

Move the spears to sit on top of the roast, then put in the oven for 90 mins at 350 degrees C.

A green salad and boiled nugget potatoes make for lovely side dishes.

I have even tossed some lava salt into butter being melted for popcorn.

It turns the butter a pale grey, but once it’s on the popcorn, all you notice is the amazing flavour.