Moral Ethics or Ethical Morals or what’s the friggin difference anyway?

When I used to spend my online time playing on the atheist forum over on www.topix.com – I was often challenged by Christians to explain where my moral code came from.

Telling them me, my family and my culture was never an answer they cou

ld understand and not a one would ever ask any questions about what that meant or how it was applied.

I think because if they could not be pointed to a list of rules to try to measure up to and accept failure as a given with forgivess assured if the sincerity or the appearance of sincerity of a repentance – they can’t understand that that’s not morals that’s just being a defective clockwork orange.

so basically, this is the moral code that I apply.

Less wrong
do no harm

and the way I measure that is asking myself, is there a way for me to be more good or do more good in the situation.

now, granted, good is a vauge and extremely relative term
and you have to be an intelligent person with a deep pool of knowledge to be really sure

and I guess that’s a big part of what’s with the huge anti-intellectual under achiever and barely literate asshole pride that equates layperson opinions with educated, subject matter expert and even professional opinions of even the leaders in specialty fields of knowledge.

I guess the dumber you are, the dumber you want the people in power to be, so you don’t feel like a lesser person and I can’t imagine what kind of self loathing prick you have to be to want to drag other people down to your level.

But, I guess that’s the kind of arrogance it takes for anyone to expect to be rewarded with heaven when they enjoy overmuch the idea of other people being in hell.

I don’t know how anyone can deem their morality as being actually moral that would allow them to enjoy the suffering of others.

that makes me heart sick, because it’s exactly that, that allows what seem to be good people to be considered normal people.

and all it takes for evil to happen is for ordinary people to do nothing.

chilling thought.

or it should be.

Leave a Reply

